₹ 30,000 to ₹ 15,00,00,000

Your search results

Detailed Schedule of the 2024 West Bengal General Election: Dates and Seat Distribution.

Posted by Manisha Dugar on April 15, 2024

The Lok Sabha elections in 2024 will be conducted in West Bengal across seven phases, similar to Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. The Election Commission has released the schedule, with voting for Phase 1 beginning on April 19 and concluding with Phase 7 on June 1. Vote counting is scheduled for June 4. West Bengal, with 42 Lok Sabha seats, will participate in all seven phases. The detailed schedule for West Bengal is as follows:

  • Phase 1 (April 19): Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, and Jalpaiguri constituencies will vote on April 19. Cooch Behar and Jalpaiguri are reserved for SC candidates, while Alipurduar is reserved for STs.
  • Phase 2 (April 26): Darjeeling, Raiganj, and Balurghat seats in the northern part of Bengal will go to polls on April 26.
  • Phase 3 (May 7): Malda Uttar, Malda Dakshin, Jangipur, and Murshidabad will vote on May 7.
  • Phase 4 (May 13): Eight constituencies including Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Burdwan-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, and Birbhum will have elections in the fourth phase. Among these, Ranaghat, Bolpur, and Bardhaman Purba are reserved for SCs.
  • Phase 5 (May 20): The industrial belt of Bengal will vote in phase 5, including Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia, Srerampur, Hooghly, and Arambagh. Bangaon and Arambagh are reserved for SC candidates.
  • Phase 6 (May 25): Western West Bengal, comprising Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, and Bishnupur, will vote in the penultimate phase. Jhargram is reserved for STs, while Bishnupur is for SCs.
  • Phase 7 (June 1): Kolkata and its suburbs will vote in the final phase. Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, and Kolkata Uttar constituencies will participate. Jaynagar and Mathurapur are reserved for SCs.

Seat Distribution and Parties:

In West Bengal, there are a total of 42 Lok Sabha seats. Out of these, 30 seats are open to all candidates, while 10 seats are designated for SC candidates, and 2 seats are reserved for ST candidates.

Compare Listings